A.T.O.M.S @ XLRI

Just another WordPress.com weblog

some “aha” moments

Posted by venu4u on October 27, 2008

Today I could not keep my self silent against appreciating the fact that why XL is regarded as such a renowned place for PM & IR study. The first thing that strikes to me is the versatality of the professors in this area. To name a few, Prof. Jittu Singh who taught us OB in term I was one of the few profs that I had seen till now who amazed me with the way in which a dry subject like OB can be taught so interestingly. In term II, this aspect was reinforced my Prof. E M Rao who taught PM portion of PM&IR course. I cannot but praise him for his versatality in terms of his all round knowledge apart from the Personnel Management to aspects as diverse as vedas. 

For sometime now, I used to wonder how can something like vedic knowledge which was very old, be protected from interpolation or misinterpretation when passed on through various generations of our forefathers and being continued even now to small extent (I guess so).  I got the answer for this question today in Prof. Rao’s class wherein in praise of indian intellect, he explained the concept behind vedic chanting as designed by our forefathers in terms of samhitha,pada,krama,jata and ghana principles(more from here) to avoid misinterpretation or interpolation from various pseudo-gurus, while the knowledge was getting transmitted across generations.

Leave a comment