A.T.O.M.S @ XLRI

Just another WordPress.com weblog

My electives for term III & IV

Posted by venu4u on October 27, 2008

Here are the electives that I have chosen for term III & IV

Term III

Entrepreneurship & new ventures

resource based strategy

marketing strategy & implementation

CAPEX

M&A and Corporate Restructuring

Commercial Banking

Software Project Management

IT Strategy

Term IV

Business 2 Business Marketing

Services Marketing & Retail Mktg Mgmt

Logistics & Supply Chain Management

Stock Analysis and Portfolio Management

Project Management

E-business

corporate Taxation

contemporary business practices

Most of my subjects are related to the conceptual skills enhancement which I think will be required to me moving forward to a senior management role. Ofcourse some hygiene factors (forexample: courses relevant to current context, professor’s reputation in terms of evaluation, subject matter, some recommendations from seniors) were also considered in selecting the same. Eventhough finance sector is going down, you can see that I kind of ended up with a finance major. This happened purely for 2 reasons. one, I believe that finance and marketing are the 2 skills that a b-school degree allows you to differentiate yourself from the crowd. They also have a lot of conceptual bent to them which helps a person when he takes up any senior position. second, I believe majoring in finance is akin to becoming a doctor where you can put your skills to use for a long time even after you retire. (Disclaimer: These are purely my personal and we can debate on these to any extent)

Leave a comment